New Chairs appointed to BTA Board and VisitEngland Advisory Board

24 October 2022

We are delighted to welcome new appointments to the Chairs of the British Tourist Authority (BTA) and the VisitEngland Advisory Board (VEAB).

Nick de Bois CBE has been appointed by the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport as Chair of the BTA (VisitBritain/VisitEngland) for a period of three years. He will take up his new post on 1 November 2022 until 31 October 2025. Nick has been VisitEngland Advisory Board (VEAB) Chair since his appointment on 1 June 2020 until his new appointment begins. During this time and acting in an independent capacity, Nick led the government's review into the funding and structures of England’s Destination Management Organisations.

He will be replaced by current VEAB Board member, Fiona Pollard, who has been appointed VEAB Chair for nine months (1 November 2022 to 31 July 2023) while recruitment for a permanent Chair is completed. Fiona joined the VEAB in March 2018 and was reappointed for a second term in March 2022. Fiona runs her own events company and sits on several boards, including the Roman Baths, one of the most visited tourist attractions in England.

Dame Judith Mcgregor, who has been acting as Interim Chair of the BTA since August 2021, will remain on the BTA Board in her capacity as board member. Dame Judith joined the BTA Board in December 2017 and was reappointed in December 2020.

We thank Dame Judith, Nick and Fiona for their hard work and contributions to date and look forward to working with them all in their new roles.