VisitEngland Awards for Excellence

The VisitEngland Awards for Excellence provide an opportunity for all tourism businesses and attractions in England to gain recognition for excellent service.

VisitEngland 2018 Awards

VisitEngland Awards for Excellence 2018 logo

Now in their 29th year, the Awards celebrate the very best in English tourism, championing excellence in best practice and customer service. 

The winners of the Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were announced at a prestigious awards ceremony at the Bath Assembly Rooms on 23 April 2018.

Below are the winners in each category for this year’s awards:

Bed & Breakfast of the Year

GOLD - Alkham Court Farmhouse, Kent: https://www.alkhamcourt.co.uk

SILVER - The 25 Boutique B&B, Devon: https://www.the25.uk

BRONZE - South Lodge Boutique B&B, Buckinghamshire: http://southlodgebandb.co.uk

Boutique Guest Accommodation of the Year

GOLD - Yorebridge House, Yorkshire: http://www.yorebridgehouse.co.uk

SILVER - Hever Castle & Gardens, Kent: https://www.hevercastle.co.uk/stay

BRONZE - Cary Arms & Spa “Inn on the Beach”, Devon: https://www.caryarms.co.uk

Business Tourism Award

GOLD - Sage Gateshead, Tyne & Wear: http://www.sagegateshead.com

SILVER - Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa, Cheshire: https://www.handpickedhotels.co.uk/rookeryhall/business

BRONZE - Tewkesbury Park, Gloucestershire: https://www.tewkesburypark.co.uk/meetings.html

Dog Friendly Business of the Year

GOLD - Wallops Wood Cottages, Hampshire: https://www.wallopswoodcottages.co.uk/dogs.html

SILVER - Bulleigh Barton Manor, Devon: http://www.bulleighbartonmanor.co.uk/dogs.html

BRONZE - Salad Days Beach Hut, Somerset: http://www.dunsterbeachhut.com/dogs-at-salad-days

Guided Tour of the Year

GOLD - York’s Chocolate Story, Yorkshire: https://www.yorkschocolatestory.com

SILVER - World of Wedgwood, Staffordshire: https://www.worldofwedgwood.com

BRONZE - Cotswolds Distillery, Warwickshire: https://www.cotswoldsdistillery.com

Holiday Park / Holiday Village of the Year

GOLD - Landal Gwel an Mor, Cornwall: https://www.gwelanmor.com

SILVER - Seafield Caravan Park, Northumberland: https://www.seafieldpark.co.uk

BRONZE - Polmanter Touring Park, Cornwall: https://www.polmanter.com

Hotel of the Year

GOLD - Rudding Park, Yorkshire: https://www.ruddingpark.co.uk

SILVER - Lucknam Park, Wiltshire: https://www.lucknampark.co.uk

BRONZE - Seaham Hall, County Durham: https://www.seaham-hall.co.uk

Inbound Tourism Award

GOLD - Beiwei 55°, London and Tyne & Wear: http://beiwei55.co.uk

SILVER - The Roman Baths & Pump Room, Bath & North East Somerset: https://www.romanbaths.co.uk

BRONZE - The Grand Hotel & Spa, Yorkshire: https://www.thegrandyork.co.uk

Inclusive Tourism Award

GOLD - The Roman Baths & Pump Room, Bath & North East Somerset: https://www.romanbaths.co.uk

SILVER - Mylor Sailing & Powerboat School, Cornwall: https://mylorsailingschool.co.uk

BRONZE - Cottage in the Dales, Yorkshire: http://www.cottageinthedales.co.uk

Innovation in Tourism Award

GOLD - British Airways i360, East Sussex: http://britishairwaysi360.com

SILVER - Go North East, Tyne & Wear: https://www.gonortheast.co.uk

BRONZE - English Lake District China Forum, Cumbria: http://www.englishlakes.com.cn

Large Visitor Attraction of the Year

GOLD - National Memorial Arboretum, Staffordshire: http://www.thenma.org.uk

SILVER - Blenheim Palace, Oxfordshire: https://www.blenheimpalace.com

BRONZE - Moors Valley Country Park and Forest, Dorset: https://www.moors-valley.co.uk

New Tourism Business Award

GOLD – Stasher, London: https://stasher.com

SILVER -  Ascent Trampoline Park, Lancashire: http://www.ascenttrampolinepark.co.uk

BRONZE - Loose Reins, Dorset: https://www.loosereins.co.uk

Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year

GOLD - Sheepyard Barn at The Suffolk Escape, Suffolk: http://www.suffolkescape.co.uk/barnescapes/sheepyard-barn

SILVER - The Milkshed, Devon: https://www.themilkshed-devon.com

BRONZE - The Treehouse Hotel at Port Lympne Hotel & Reserve, Kent: https://www.aspinallfoundation.org/port-lympne/short-breaks/treehouse-hotel

Small Visitor Attraction of the Year

GOLD - the Charterhouse, London: http://www.thecharterhouse.org

SILVER - Hall Hill Farm, County Durham: http://www.hallhillfarm.co.uk

BRONZE - Screech Owl Sanctuary & Wildlife Park, Cornwall: https://screechowlsanctuary.co.uk

Sustainable Tourism Award

GOLD - Laverock Law Cottages, Northumberland: http://laverocklawcottages.co.uk

SILVER - Browsholme Hall, Lancashire: https://browsholme.com

BRONZE - Colton House, Staffordshire: http://coltonhouse.com

Taste of England Award

GOLD - Restaurant Hywel Jones by Lucknam Park, Wiltshire: https://www.lucknampark.co.uk/dining/restaurant-hywel-jones-by-lucknam-park

SILVER - Miller’s Fish and Chips, Yorkshire: http://www.millersfish.co.uk

BRONZE - Askham Hall, Cumbria: https://www.askhamhall.co.uk

Tourism Pub of the Year

GOLD - The Riverside at Aymestrey, Herefordshire: http://www.riversideaymestrey.co.uk

SILVER - The Cartford Inn, Lancashire: http://www.thecartfordinn.co.uk

BRONZE - The Bruce Arms West Tanfield, Yorkshire: http://www.thebrucearms.com

Visitor Information Provider of the Year

GOLD - York Visitor Information Centre, Yorkshire: https://www.visityork.org/general-and-tourist-info/visitor-information-centre

SILVER - Oxford Visitor Information Centre, Oxfordshire: https://www.experienceoxfordshire.org/venue/information-ticket-sales-oxford-visitor-information-centre

BRONZE - Liverpool Tourist Information Centre, Merseyside: https://www.visitliverpool.com/plan-your-visit/visitor-centres

Tourism Superstar

Jim O’Reilly, Red Funnel Ferries, Isle of Wight: https://www.redfunnel.co.uk/en/

Travel Article of the Year

Richard Mellor, The Guardian

Party in the Sea - Between the Isles of Scilly

https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2017/jun/12/low-tide-event-sandbank-party-isles-of-scilly-tresco-bryher

Outstanding Contribution to Tourism

Historic Royal Palaces: https://www.hrp.org.uk

Details of the finalists can be found on the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence website.

 

2018 Sponsors

Barclays sponsor logo awards for excellenceBarclays - sponsor of the Inclusive Tourism Award category

Barclays are committed to accessibility and aim to become the most accessible and inclusive organisation in the FTSE 100.

Creating an environment which is not only free of physical barriers, but actively seeks to welcome everybody, regardless of disability or impairment, is something the team at Barclays firmly believes is not only the right thing to do, but also makes good business sense. As a founding member of England's Inclusive Tourism Action Group (EITAG), Barclays is delighted to sponsor this category and congratulate all of the businesses involved. Barclays understands that the tourism sector has an important role to play in embracing accessibility, to ensure that people have the choice and freedom to enjoy England and experience all it has to offer, as demonstrated in the Inclusive Tourism category.

Shearings sponsor logo awards for excellenceShearings - sponsor of the Large Visitor Attraction of the Year category

Shearings is the UK’s largest escorted tour company, offering a broad range of holidays and hotel breaks to more than 200 destinations across the UK, Europe & beyond. With over 100 years of experience, they provide a range of expertly planned itineraries with everything from 2-day weekend breaks to 17-day escorted tours.Shearings’ customers travel the length and breadth of the country on their holidays and the fantastic visitor attractions England has to offer play a significant part in making these holidays memorable.

Shearings are therefore thrilled to sponsor the Large Visitor Attraction of the Year category at the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence.

Hotels & More sponsor logo awards for excellenceHotels & More - sponsor of the Guided Tour of the Year category

Hotels & More is a leading inbound tour operator for the UK and Ireland, offering a wide range of services for groups and individual travellers. With over 20 years of experience, they design bespoke travel itineraries, organise accommodation, transport, entrances and specialist guides to create memorable travel experiences.

Hotels & More is well aware of the huge impact that a first-rate guided tour can have, helping to transform a visitor attraction or bring a destination to life through engaging and entertaining anecdotes. They are therefore delighted to sponsor the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence Guided Tour of the Year category which recognises excellence in this vital area.

cottages.com sponsor logocottages.com - sponsor of the Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year category

cottages.com offers over 20,000 holiday homes in some of the UK, Ireland, France and Italy’s most amazing locations. With hot-tubs, pet-friendly breaks, truly unique accommodation, family-friendly holidays, romantic escapes and much more, holidaymakers will find the perfect place for an unforgettable getaway.

cottages.com is delighted to sponsor the Self Catering Holiday Provider of the Year category at the VisitEngland Awards for Excellence. As a brand that strives to achieve excellence in both customer experience and owner satisfaction, cottages.com is proud to help recognise the outstanding achievements of the shortlisted finalists. 

2017 Winners and Finalists

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The winners were revealed at the Awards Ceremony on the afternoon of 24 April 2017 at the Hilton Waldorf Hotel in central London. A new format for 2017 saw a greater number of awards be presented over High Tea in the renowned Palm Court. During the ceremony the winners from 22 award categories, plus the winners of Tourism Superstar and Outstanding Contribution to English Tourism awards received their award by members of the VisitEngland Advisory Board, as well as sponsors of specific categories, and Sue Perkins, the host and compere of the ceremony. You can find details of 2017's winners on the official awards website